Monday, April 7, 2014

Larimer County Courthouse Lake Estes Conference Room (Suite 333)


Rural Land Use Board:



Brenda Gimeson

Alan Carlson

Pam Stringer

Kristin Grazier


Bill Spencer

Special Guests:


Jim Reidhead


Suzanne Bassinger

Debra Herston

Ryan Hostetler

Kara Lamb

Bill Sears




1.   Approval of the February 20, 2014 RLUAB Minutes.  

Due to no quorum present, no action was taken on the minutes.


2.   Nelson RLUP - Introduction Item

Brenda gave an overview of the Nelson RLUP project, which included a slide presentation.  The project is located 2 miles north of the Town of Wellington on County Road 9 between County Road 70 and 72.  The applicant, David Nelson, is proposing to divide 79.5+/- acres into four (4) single-family residential lots, approximately 5 acres in size, and 1 Residual Lot, approximately 59.5 +/- acres in size, with building envelopes for agricultural support buildings only.  Access for these lots will be taken off County Road 9.  The zoning district on this property is O-Open which allows one unit per 10 acres by zoning.  The current lot size proposed is 5-acres to accommodate on-lot wells.  If public water is determined to be available and feasible, it is possible the lot sizes could range from 2-5 acres; sewer will be provided by on-site septic systems;  fire protection by Wellington Fire; dry grazing will continue on the residual land.  The North Poudre Canal separates the property and the Boxelder Creek is located southwest of the property.  Boxelder Creek is defined as a Class 3 wetland.  The Residual Lot will be protected from further development for a minimum of 40 years.  The Health and Engineering Departments have visited the site and will make recommendations regarding the proposal.  A Community Meeting is scheduled for April 23, 2014, at 6:00 p.m. at the Leeper Center in Wellington.


Brenda also stated that a much larger and denser proposal named the Wellington 17 RLUP was processed on this property and reviewed by the RLUAB in 2006.  At that time, the ditch company had concerns regarding the location of the homes near the canal that runs through the property.  Brenda stated that with this proposal, the home sites are much further from the canal which should address those concerns.  The Board inquired about the existing conditions of the land.  Brenda offered to take the members on a site visit and committed to sending out an e-mail request for interest. 

3.   Other Business

Brenda gave an update on the Silver Reef RLUP.   A possible issue has come up with the available water taps.  The applicant is working with the water district for clarification.  Until there is an answer to this issue, the project will not move forward.  Brenda will keep the Board updated. 


Brenda also briefed the Board on another potential RLUP that is currently in negotiations.  More info will follow if a project is submitted.


Brenda informed the board members that the Willowbrook Ranch RLUP did receive preliminary approval at the Hearing on March 10, 2014, with the conditions as proposed by the RLUAB and staff.


The de-annexation vote took place on April 1, 2014 for the Haworth property in Berthoud.  The results of the vote were to de-annex the property, so we may see this project reappear. 


Member Spencer asked about the Sylvan Dale Ranch and what their intentions are regarding the buildings destroyed by the flood, either tearing down or rebuilding?  Brenda stated the owners are still considering all of their options. 


The Three Bell RLUP and Dry Creek Estates RLUP are still working on their Final plat documentation.


Brenda announced to the board that we have openings for two board members and if they know of anyone interested in sitting on the board, have them apply by April 25, 2014.  She also made a suggestion to the current board about possibly revisiting the by-laws to change them to read “up to nine members” instead of requiring nine members.


Meeting adjourned at 5:45 p.m.


            _______________________                  _____________________________               Vice-Chair-Debra Herston                                   Secretary- Kara Lamb