February 13, 2014

Meeting Minutes

Voting Members in attendance: Michelle Brinegar, Jenny Ellison, Jim Drendel, Dale Lake, Michael Ruttenberg, Alex Murphy, Eric Moskalski, Josi McCauley, Cyndi Dodds, Margaret Crespo, Joe Thome, Averil Strand, Chris Gastelle

Non-Voting Members in attendance: Thad Paul, Lynette Dunn, Bob Bauman, Steve Johnson, John Jostad, Ed Rutherford

Guests: Idaho Dept. of Human Services, Child Welfare – Rob, April, Shawna, Roxanne

Recorder: Deb Bowen


  1. Call to order by Michelle Brinegar at 11:35 a.m.
  2. Welcome and Introductions
    • We welcomed our guests from Idaho Dept. of Human Services, Child Welfare and introductions were made around the table. The guests were visiting the Children, Youth and Family Division of Larimer County to learn about Larimer’s child welfare practice.
  3. Review and Approval of Minutes December 12, 2013 and January 9, 2014
    • Motion to approve minutes by Averil Strand, seconded by Chris Gastelle. All in favor, motion passed.
  4. State Incentive Funds Available & LCIOG Budget
    • The State office has been overspending the IOG budget for several years. Because of that we are now in jeopardy of having our incentive dollars cut, even though we have met our goals. Two options the State has offered are funding reductions of 83% (Option 1) or 50% (Option 2). The cuts are balanced out. Attached is an assumption for all calculations in the options provided by the State office and our current budget sheets.
    • Our board agreed to send a letter to Roxane White, Chief of Staff, Office of the Governor to let them know how this is going to impact services to children and families in Larimer County and ask for this lost funding to be replaced. The letter will be drafted by Jim Drendel and signed by Averil Strand, co-chair of the LCIOG Board. The letter will be CC’d to the Larimer County Commissioners and the Larimer County Legislators. The letter will be shared with other county IOG coordinators after it is sent to Roxane White.
    • State DHS wants each county IOG coordinator to vote by February 28, 2014. Thad Paul will cast our vote.
    • Motion to vote option 2 on February 28, 2014 after letter has been submitted on February 24, 2014 by Chris Gastelle, seconded by Averil Strand. All in favor, motion passed.
  5. FAPT Team Coordinator Position
    • Discussion to re-post the FAPT Coordinator position as a Supervisor instead of a Social Caseworker III to get a better pool of candidates, although there were satisfactory applicants that went through the interviews. The FAPT Team feels it should be a supervisor level so the person can make the decisions necessary to get things done quickly and seamlessly. The LCIOG members also agree the position should be a supervisory level. A management position is critical to the success of FAPT. Michael Ruttenberg offered to help with the description for reclassification of the position from CWIII to Supervisor.
    • An additional $11,000 would be needed to fund the position at a supervisor level which is paid 100% by LCIOG. The budget committee will meet and make recommendations on how to pay the additional $11,000.
    • A motion to approve the FAPT Coordinator as a supervisor level was made by Jenny Ellison and seconded by Eric Moskalski. The decision is dependent upon the budget committee’s recommendation on how to pay for the increase. All in favor, motion passed.
    • From the LCIOG perspective it is a good idea to have some of the FAPT team members take on the facilitation duties of FAPT meetings to help alleviate the pressure Shannon Reiff experiences as the interim director of FAPT and also her full time job at DHS.
  6. Old Business – Michelle Brinegar brought up the fact that she is unable to sign as the LCIOG Chair Person on any correspondence for budget requests since she is a District Court Judge. She wants to be sure no one has any concerns about her position as a judge. A discussion was held whether she should stay on as Chair and the LCIOG members feel she should continue as chair since there are no conflicts. She would not vote unless there was a tie and would not vote at all if there is any conflict of interest.
  7. New Business – None
  8. Next Meeting:
    • March 13, 2014
      11:30 a.m. – 1 p.m.
      Larimer County Court House
      200 West Oak Street
      Boyd Lake Room, 1st Floor
      Fort Collins
  9. Adjourn 12:50 p.m.

Notes submitted by Deb Bowen