Meeting Minutes

January 14, 2015



Present:  Sam Adams (liaison USDA NRCS), Jason Brothers, Tim Clouse, Karen Crumbaker (liaison), Sarah Fox, Lew Gaiter, Brenda Gimeson (liaison), Charles Gindler (liaison), Nic Koontz, Minerva Lee, Val Manning, Gail Meisner, Jon Slutsky, Bill Spenser (liaison), Ted Swanson, Zach Thode, and George Wallace.  Guests:  Ryan Dreitz, FFA Advisor, Poudre High School.


Absent:  Jennifer Bornhoft (liaison), Debra Herston, Greg Schreiner, and Richard Seaworth.


I.          Gail Meisner called the meeting to order at 12:34 p.m.  Introductions were made.  The Board welcomed its newest members, Sarah Fox and Tim Clouse.


II.         The November 12, 2014, AAB Meeting Minutes were approved, with one minor correction.


III.       In August, 2014, Ryan Dreitz became the new Ag Teacher and FFA Advisor at Poudre High School in Fort Collins.  Ryan discussed his plans for the new FFA program at Poudre High School.  The first fundraiser for the FFA program will take place at Poudre High School on February 27, with a dinner, silent auction and member auction.  The fundraiser will raise money for the Poudre Ag Program.  Contact Ryan at for more information about the fundraiser.


IV.       Election of officers took place.  Gail Meisner will remain Chair.  Debra Herston will remain secretary.  Greg Schreiner and Zach Thode were nominated as Vice Chair.  After a paper vote, Zach Thode was elected as Vice Chair.


V.        Commissioner Lew Gaiter joined the meeting and lead a discussion of ag issues and concerns within the county.  Commissioner Gaiter reminded the Board that he has regular telephone calls with Gail Meisner on the second Monday of each month at 1:00 p.m.  If any Board member has concerns she should discuss with Commissioner Gaiter, contact Gail prior to her monthly telephone call.


VI.       The group broke into committees.  New members were asked to join a committee.  The committees for 2015 are the Legislative and Public Policy, Jon Slutsky, Chair; Public Education and Outreach, Val Manning, Chair; Ag. Land Preservation and Stewardship will combine with Water Resources, George Wallace, Chair.  There were three members missing, so it was decided to finalize tasks and report final plans at the next meeting.


VII.      The next AAB meeting will be held on Wednesday, March 11, 2015 , at 12:30 p.m. at the CSU Larimer County Extension Office, 1525 Blue Spruce Drive, Fort Collins, CO.


VIII.     The meeting was adjourned at 3:02 p.m.