Approved Meeting Minutes

January 10, 2018



Present:  Jenn Cram (liaison), Karen Crumbaker (liaison), Lew Gaiter, Nic Koontz, Gail Meisner, Paula Petroff (Extension), Travis Rollins (liaison), Greg Schreiner, Jon Slutsky, Bill Spencer (liaison), Zach Thode, and George Wallace.  Guests:  Nancy Day, Clayton Roth and Peter Waack.


Absent: Jennifer Bornhoft (liaison), Jason Brothers, Beth Conrey, Richard Seaworth, Bill Spencer (liaison), Ted Swanson. Note: Timothy Clouse had not yet been reappointed to the AAB.


I.          Meeting called to order, introduction of guests, and chair report. Greg Schreiner called the meeting to order at 12:35 p.m. Guests Clayton Roth, Nancy Day and Peter Waack were introduced and given an opportunity to speak about agriculture issues concerning them in Larimer County.  It was suggested that language be included in the Bylaws addressing public comments and time allowed to speak.  Jenn will work on composing the language. Additionally, George recommended placing “public comments” first on the meeting Agenda.


II.        The November 8, 2017, AAB Meeting Minutes were approved and accepted, with corrections.


III.       Interactions with Commissioner Gaiter on Ag and Community related issues.  The second session of the Colorado General Assembly convened January 10, 2018. Kevin Lundberg is the current Senator for District 15, but his seat is term-limited and ends in 2018.  There are 4 individuals currently interested in running in the election for Senator Lundberg’s seat in November.  They are:  Rebecca Cranston (D), Nicholas Morse (R), Rob Woodward (R), and Ralph Trenary (D). Information on candidates interested in running for Colorado state offices can be found at:


IV.       Officer Elections. Zach Thode was nominated Chair and Nic Koontz was nominated Vice Chair.  After a verbal vote, Zach and Nic were elected Chair and Vice Chair, respectively.  Election of the secretary was tabled to the March 14, 2018 meeting.


V.        2017 Task Force Presentation Updates.


  • Greg asked members for updates on their Task Force presentations and if they were ready to present them to the County Board of Commissioners.  The Drone and the Right to Farm and Ranch Policy (RTF) groups are ready and Jenn will schedule the presentations.


  • Richard, George, Jon and Gail from the RTF Task Force working group shared ideas they have about improving public awareness of the policy.


  • George shared a Draft RTF policy with AAB members and discussion followed.



VI.       Update on Executive Sessions. Jenn noted that the Agricultural Advisory Board could go into Executive Sessions.  They could also have an Executive Session with the Open Lands Board if invited and vice versa.  If the two Boards are going to meet, it does need to be public noticed.


VII.     Review of Bylaws with New Definitions. Jenn presented suggested changes from the November 8, 2017 AAB meeting.  Additional changes to definitions were suggested and Jenn will revise the Bylaws to reflect these. She will provide AAB members with the changes prior to submitting them to the County Attorney and then the County Board of Commissioners.


VIII.    Ag Board Sponsorship of Ag Bike Tour.  The AAB is not interested in pursuing sponsorship opportunities for a bike tour in 2018, but might want to consider doing in future years.  Jenn noted that for future, the Ag Board should define what a sponsorship commitment might look like.  Does it require a budget, etc. Jenn is interested in assisting with organization if this comes to fruition.


IX.       Announcements. None shared.


X.        The next AAB meeting will be held on March 14, 2018, at 12:30 p.m. at the CSU Larimer County Extension Office, 1525 Blue Spruce Drive, Fort Collins, CO.


XI.       The meeting was adjourned at 3:00 p.m.