June 9, 2009



Members In Attendance:



Melissa Chalona


Bob Keister, Budget Director

Jennifer Lee


Ben Myers

Dale Lockwood



Devin Odell


Staff :

Bill Zawacki


Doug Ryan





A quorum was not present, so no official action was taken at this meeting.


Introduction of Members and Guests:

Those in attendance introduced themselves.


Discussion Items:

Strategy Mapping for Budget Outcomes:   Bob Keister, Larimer County Budget Director, outlined the concept of strategy mapping and lead the advisory board in a discussion about the county’s plans for developing and using them it in the future. 


At its core, a strategy map is a visual representation of the casual pathway to a goal or ‘end result’.  The format for a strategy map places the end result in the center, and connects it to a series of primary ‘factors’ that lead to or help produce the end result.  Those factors are connected in turn to an outer layer of secondary factors that contribute to implementation of the primary factors.  In 2008, the County Commissioners identified seven end result statements.  In May of this year a team of staff were brought together and ask to identify primary and secondary factors for achieving the seven end statements.  The products of that exercise were the strategy maps that Mr. Keister reviewed the EAB.  The next steps will be to further refine the strategy maps.  Ultimately the maps would need to be approved by the County Commissioners.  Mr. Keister indicated that the county departments would eventually develop outcome-based indicators for implementing the secondary factors as part of their budget requests.  It is anticipated that the adoption of outcome-based indicators and their use in the budget process would take about two years.


The Advisory Board was asked to help with the review of the maps that involve end results related to the environment.  The members present at the meeting indicated that they felt the project was important and offered potential benefits for deciding what county government activities were most important and therefore should receive budget funding.  Doug Ryan was asked to bring the strategy maps back at a future EAB meeting for a more in-depth discussion – and consideration of recommendations to pass along to the Commissioners and the teams working on the project.


Recognition of Retiring EAB Members:   Five of the current 12 EAB members will be retiring from the advisory board in June or July.  Those members are: Mike Erickson, Dale Lockwood, Heidi Steltzer, Sherm Worthington and Bill Zawacki.  In recognizing these dedicated members, Doug Ryan, Devin Odell and Melissa Chalona each spoke about their appreciation of the personal commitment, expertise and cooperative working relations they have provide.  It was also noted that Dale Lockwood served as chair of the EAB for the years 2005 through 2008.  Devin Odell presented a certificate of appreciation for the retiring members with the signatures of Kathay Rennels and himself representing the chairs of the County Commissioners and the EAB.



Doug Ryan noted that the start of the 2009 Environmental Stewardship Awards program will be announced in a press release scheduled for mid-June.  The deadline for submittal of nominations will be August 31, 2009.  This program is an annual event sponsored jointly by the Environmental Advisory Board and the County Commissioners.


The Solid Waste Department has released their annual report for 2009.  Doug Ryan indicated that he emailed an electronic copy to each of the members.  Copies are also available on the department’s web page at


EAB Issue Index:

Doug Ryan will update the EAB Issue Index related to the topics discussed at the meeting.


July Meeting Agenda:

Orientation for new members, stewardship awards, strategy mapping for budget outcomes, election of a vice-chair



The meeting ended at 8:00 PM